AYUTTHAYA: THE ANCIENT CAPITAL OF SIAM

  • Port

    Laem Chabang

  • Level of difficulties

    Moderate

  • Type

    Sightseeing, Cultural, Meal included

  • Price

    Adults

    EUR130.0

  • Duration in hours

    11.0

  • Shore excursion code

    6866

Description

An excursion to learn about the fascinating history of the ancient kingdom of Siam through the amazing ruins and temples of its capital.



What we will see
  • Ayutthaya Historical Park: ruins of the old city
  • Bang Pa-In Royal Palace or Summer Palace
  • Wat Mahathat
  • Wat Phra Sri Sanphet
  • Wihan Phra Mongkon Bophit and statue of the seated Buddha
  • Wat Yai Chai Mongkon
  • Buffet lunch


What we will do
  • Our thrilling journey back in time starts with the fascinating ruins of the old city forming the so-called Ayutthaya Historical Park and declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991. While exploring the area, we make out its original urban layout made up of moats, palaces and majestic temples decorated with rows of enigmatic stone Buddha statues.
  • The wealth of pagodas and dwellings and the large number of navigable canals led to it being known as Venice of the East.
  • We then visit the enchanting and important complex of the Bang Pa-In Royal Palace, also known as the Summer Palace, which was built in 1632. The current buildings are the result of a restoration commissioned between 1872 and 1889 by King Chulalongkorn and are eclectic examples of Thai, European and Chinese architecture.
  • The palace is made up of five imposing buildings: a lovely Thai-style pavilion right in the middle of an artificial lake, a two-storey pavilion of European influence for official ceremonies, a pavilion which was once used as residence during the high tide season, a Chinese-style pavilion where the court used to live during the cool rainy season and an observatory located on an islet offering breath-taking views of the surrounding countryside.
  • After a thrilling elephant ride (2 people per animal), we visit the Wat Phra Sri Sanphet, the most important temple in the ancient complex of the Grand Royal Palace made up of three large stupas dating back to the family of King Rama Thibodi II and his father, who both lived here in the 15th century, and which had the same function as Bangkok’s Emerald Buddha Temple.
  • Our excursion continues with the Wihan Phra Mongkhon Bophit, where one of the largest seated Buddha statues in the world is located together will smaller statues found in the same area.
  • The vihara (hall) was destroyed in 1767 when the Burmese ransacked Ayutthaya and was rebuilt in the original style in 1956.
  • Finally, we visit the Wat Yai Chai Mongkon, a majestic meditation pagoda built in 1357 by King U Thong and whose remains can be seen from afar.
  • We end our historical excursion with a buffet lunch of Thai specialities in a local restaurant before heading back to the port.

What you need to know
  • We recommend that you book early because only a limited number of places are available.
  • You must remove footwear and wear socks to enter the Temples. Legs and shoulders must be covered.
  • Comfortable shoes and dress code that is appropriate for the places of worship to be visited is recommended.
  • This excursion is not recommended for guests with mobility problems.
  • The coach transfer from the port to Ayutthaya takes approximately 3 hours.